LibGuides: Foundation in Computing (FIC): Databases

Databases

For recent information, journal articles are often the relevant resources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic. Access all databases via the Online Databases link. List of General Online Database:

ProQuest Education Collection This collection provides access to ERIC, the leading index for education research, in combination with the full- text Education Database. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including full- text from hundreds of leading education journals

List of Subject-Related Online Database:

Academic Search Complete Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Source Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,900 full-text periodicals, of which more than 6,800 are peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
Malaysiakini Launched on November 20th, 1999, Malaysiakini.com offers daily news and views in English, Malay, Chinese and Tamil, delivering over 37 million page views and 750,000 video downloads per month to over 1.6 million absolute unique visitors (Google Analytics, August 2008). As of July 2008, Malaysiakini became the most read news website and the most popular Malaysian website. Malaysiakini’s editorial position is built on fast, accurate and independent news, and well informed and diverse views. Malaysiakini’s Letters section has generated active participation from readers of all races and religions and of various ideological backgrounds, creating an open and well-informed arena of public debate unseen in Malaysia since the 1960s. Discussion on taboo subjects such as migrant workers, AIDS, Islam and racial quota systems has generated a new understanding on these issues.
SAGE Premier This database includes the full text of 19 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 12,800 articles and up to 53 years of backfiles.
upgrade from Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection ScienceDirect Freedom Collection is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. The subscription allows users access to current year + 4 back years (2009-2013). Any backfile articles prior to 2009 are not included in the subscription.

Shortcut to:

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.